top of page

ABOUT

Welcome to Sophia's Life + Style, thank you for finding my little slice in intarnet, if you are interested on my posts please subscrive! Let's go get to know each other more...

BOOK REVIEW ON JUST ONE DAY BY GAYLE FORMAN


Title: Just One Day

Author: Gayle Forman

Publishing Date: January 2013

Pages: 369

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Series: Just one Year, Just One Night

My Rating: 5/5

Goodreads Description:

When sheltered American good girl Allyson "LuLu" Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

Book's Synopsis:

Allyson Healey’s life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem.

A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life.

A book about love, heartbreak, travel, identity, and the “accidents” of fate, Just One Day shows us how sometimes in order to get found, you first have to get lost. . . and how often the people we are seeking are much closer than we know.

My NON Spoiler Review:

I actually loved this book, it was all I expected and even more! The love story is just perfect and very unpredicted. Personally I loved all the characters, they are all so cute and perfect. I would actually love if someone recreated this book into a good movie (I would be the first one to buy the tickets.) I give this book five out of five stars without even thinking, I LOVED IT! The writtine/language of this book is very easy and I really recommend it for all perople, but if you are just starting to read and are new to the fansastic book world I would really recomend you to read this. And if you like romance stories like me, do not hesitate on buying and reading this book. Another plus for this book is that part of it takes place in Paris... I think it is self explanatory...

My Spoiler Review:

*BTW THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS SO IF YOU ARE CURRENTLY READING THE BOOK OR PLANNING ON READING IT DON'T READ MY REVIEW*

May I start saying how much I loved this book?! Romance is defenetly my favorite book genre. The characters are lovely as well as the love story in the book. A part of me fell apart when Allyson woke up that morning and Willem wasn't there. At first I loved Willem and then hated him I thought he was a horrible person, I spilled shit about him, but at the end of the story I just was soooo happy, so enthusiastic and I was so full of joy! I can't lie, I really though he had just used her for that one day, but then all lined up and made sence. HE HAD BEEN HURT like WTF???!!!!! He cared about Allyson through all the damn book.

Tell me, who doesn't love Dee?? I meen it, he basicly saved all Allyson and Willem's relationship by giving her the example of Romeo and Juliet (loved that). That Romeo jumped into conclusions and thought Juliet was dead, when she was really a sleep!! That changed all the book, all the ending.

I'm willing to read Just One Year, which is the Part 2 of Just One Day but since Willem's point of view. And after that I shall read Just One Night!!!!!!

About the Author:

As mentioned before Gayle Forman is the author of this book. She is a 47 year old women who was born the 5th of June, Los Angeles CA. She is known for her novel "If I Stay"

which was one of the New York Times best sellers (Young Adult Fiction), who was made into a film with the same same.

She wrote four books ; If I Stay, Where She Went, Just One Day and Just One Year.

Hope you liked today's post, if you did please leave a like and subscribe. I post every Sunday.

xox Sophia

bottom of page